top of page
  • bruselasvanessa

Why Did I Decide to Enter the Virtual Freelancing World?

Updated: Sep 29, 2022

So, what is a Virtual Freelancer?

A virtual freelancer works from home to accomplish work for clients under an independent contract. This career provides various services. It includes, but not limited to, virtual assistance, graphic design, social media management, content writing, digital marketing, search engine optimization, etc. My freelancing brand, Lioness Concepts, is focusing on three services: social media management, digital marketing and content writing.


Virtual freelancer's usual desk set-up when they are working from home
Work from home set-up

Who was I before entering the Freelancing World?

I was a hotelier for 10 years. I worked in the Front Office Department, from rank-and-file to supervisory position. My computer skills and my customer service were definitely honed through the years.

Hotelier's desk

I loved my job. I really did. I love meeting new people. I love making them feel at home even if they're miles away from their actual homes. I get a sense of fulfilment every time they're satisfied with my service. I also get a different kind of satisfaction every time I'm able to resolve guest concerns. Achieving great recognitions for the company was also something that's always in my list every year. Being a hotelier is fun, stressful, glamorous, lonely and fulfilling all at the same time. I would've continued my journey but being away from family in all special occasions is no longer favorable to me and my family. It felt like I knew my work more than I knew my family — more than I knew myself.


So, let's go back to the title now.


Why did I decide to enter the freelancing world?

One word. HOME.

Work from home
There's No Place Like Home

This year I never felt more home. For those who follow me on my personal Instagram account, maybe some of you will think, “how can you be home when you’re always in transit?” Here are my musings over it.


My home can be in a tiny rented space in Metro Manila — waking up to the view of Manila Bay and Makati Skyline. Starting the day by cooking bacon and eggs, slicing dragon fruit and kiwi, and brewing hazelnut coffee beans while playing a diverse playlist on Spotify that keeps me motivated.


Virtual Freelancer in the Philippines
Virtual Freelancer in the Philippines

My home can be 284.4 miles away from NCR wherein driving around the province will give you a 360 view of the most majestic volcano in the world, Mayon Volcano. It’s where you’ll taste authentic Laing and Bicol Express. It’s where I can immerse myself in more family activities and be present in gatherings.


My home can be in a newly opened coffee shop in the province, a chic Filipino restaurant in Makati and/or a bar in Poblacion — having meaningful conversations with friends I haven’t seen for 1-3 years.

Night out of the Freelancers
Make Time for the Real Ones
Digital Nomad
San Francisco, California

My home can be 6,990 miles away from NCR – where Mom and I bond together as she fulfills her APOstolic mission (taking care of her grandchildren) and I proclaim myself as the Kendall Jenner of the family (always the aunt, not yet the mom). It is where I admire how my first niece turned into such a beautiful young lady and how sweet and witty my nephew is. It is where two cute baby monsters wake me up first thing in the morning to ask for chocolate milk or diaper change or to just look for a playmate (me!). It is where I bond with my Ate and Kuya over coffee while planning our next road trip. It is spending Sundays with our very welcoming extended families in California.


Home is not just a house. To me, home is a feeling you get whenever you are surrounded by people who matter the most – the people who love you and root for you. Home is where you get to be the real you with no judgement, just guidance. Home is where everybody makes time for each other. It is where you feel the safest, calmest, and happiest.

Be home while you make a living
Happy Place

Now, home is also where I make a living that doesn't compromise my relationships. Home inspired my branding and the thought of being at home will motivate me to go further with my freelancing career.





Freelancing as a Lioness

It is with full commitment that I enrolled in two Freelancing courses, Surge Academy and JF

Mentorship. The learnings and experiences I got from them helped me launch my brand, Lioness Concepts. They have boosted my confidence and unleashed the creative side of me. I will be forever grateful to the academy and the mentorship. Now, I can say that I am ready to grab the opportunities out there and be of service to those in need.

Lioness Concepts Social Media Management
The Brand



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page